Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 7th, 2010

This was more of an experiment to see what it did to my blood sugar than anything else. The hardest part of this low sugar thing is the lack of pasta.  I love pasta.  I used to eat it about five times a week.  So this wasn’t to see if I could make a meal I’d like.  I know I love spaghetti and I know I love meatballs, I just needed to see if I could make a few small changes and make it better.

For the meatballs I threw a pound of ground turkey, half an onion, two eggs, and a bit of parmesan cheese into the stand mixer, along with a bit of garlic salt and cayanne pepper.  Mixed it up a bit and then added about half a cup of whole oats. Mixed for about a minute until it was completely mixed.  (If it’s too runny to form into balls add a bit more of the oats.) Then I formed it into meatballs.

They’re a bit larger than I usually make them, and oddly shaped, because last night’s hand injury left me doing this one handed. Then into a 350 F oven for about 40 minutes.

Then I boiled up some whole grain pasta and warmed the premade spaghetti sauce.  The sauce had one gram of sugar per serving, it was the lowest I could find.  Soon I’ll make my own batch up.

When the meatballs were done I simply mixed it all up together and sprinkled a bit of parmesan cheese on top.

Delicious!  Just the pasta I’d been wanting.  So the blood sugar verdict? 116.  Not perfect, but good enough for an occasional thing.  Yums.

Read Full Post »