Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 13th, 2010

Here’s another easy-peasy one.

Chicken breasts, artichoke, and herb & garlic  marinade.

Put the chicken and marinade in a plastic baggie.  Then clean the artichoke, cut in half, and boil for about 40 minutes or until tender.

Then toss the chicken and artichokes into the grill pan (or onto a grill if you have one).  Cook until chicken is done.

Very very good.  And blood sugar was only 83!

Read Full Post »

Time to try out another breakfast recipe.  This is another on that is simply a blood sugar experiment, not a cooking one.  Simple ingredients.

Whole wheat pancake mix and sugar free syrup.  I just followed the box directions to mix up the pancakes and tossed them in the frying pan.

Not to brag, but I’m the best pancake maker ever.  lol

They’re always very well shaped and I’m great at flipping them.  Except for the first pancake, that one always come out a bit … Cajun.

But the rest of them get better.

Add a little margarine and syrup.  They have that slightly gritty taste that whole wheat pancakes always have, but they were still good.

But my blood sugar afterward was 128.  Not so good.  😦  Lesson learned.

Read Full Post »

Black Bean Burgers

This one is not a quick and easy one.  Lots of ingredients, lots of steps.

And that’s not even really all the ingredients.  But it’s easy to share what I did, because I used an actual recipe!  This doesn’t happen too often, as you may have noticed.  Black Bean Veggie Burgers from AllRecipes.com.  The only changes I made were dry beans instead of canned and oats instead of bread crumbs.

So I soaked the black beans, using the quick soak method and then boiled/simmered them for about 40 minutes until they were tender.  Tossed them in a bowl and then used my potato masher to mash them up.

Into the food processor went the onion, green pepper, and garlic.

Chop everything up teeny tiny, then follow the recipe, mixing everything together.  Then form them into patties.  (Because of the earlier adventures in guacamole making, my hand was still bandaged.  So to form the patties without messing up my hand more, I put a plastic sandwich baggie over my hand.  It worked surprisingly well!)

So the recipe makes four burger sized patties and one small one.  Pop those in the oven at 375 for 20 minutes, flipping halfway through.

While those were baking, I made a quick salad of spinach, tomatoes, broccoli, and goat cheese.  And of course my sugar free salad dressing.

Burgers are done!  They were slightly brittle, but not too much.

Assembled the burgers using whole wheat sandwich thins instead of buns, and reduced sugar ketchup and pickles, plus mustard and cheese.

It was very delicious!  Good substitute for regular burgers, even if it’s a bit of work to get there.

Read Full Post »